“Every right implies a responsibility; every opportunity, an obligation; every possession, a duty.” — John D. Rockefeller.

VALDOSTA — All Lowndes County precincts will open their voting booths at 7 a.m. on Election Day Tuesday, kicking off 12 hours of citizens carrying out their hard-earned right to vote.

At the polls Lowndes County voters will cast their ballots for everything from Valdosta City Council Districts 2 and 6 to Hahira City Council Districts 1 and 4 to expanding the Lowndes County Board of Commissioners by creating two new super districts to Dasher City Council Post 2 to Valdosta Board of Education Superward East District 7, Superward West District 8, At Large District and District 4.

During the combination nine-day period of early voting and week-long period of advance voting, a total of 1,148 ballots were cast.

Supervisor of Elections Deb Cox noted that there are roughly 57,000 registered voters in Lowndes County.

A total of 33 candidates qualified in

September to have their names placed on ballots, seeking one of 19 offices available during the 2009 elections. Cox said that 10 of those candidates had no opposition and will be certified on Nov. 6, in accordance with the Official Code of Georgia, Section 21-2-285j.

This includes Alvin Payton Jr., Valdosta City Council District 4; David W. Bullard Sr., City of Hahira mayor; Kenneth E. Allen, City of Dasher mayor; Julian Q. Copeland Jr., Dasher City Council Post 1; Walker K. Sandlin, City of Lake Park mayor; Albert R. Carter, Lake Park City Council; Paul R. Mulkey, Lake Park City Council; Eric Schindler, Lake Park City Council; Jeffery L. Spradley, Lake Park City Council; and Vanassa L. Flucas, Valdosta Board of District 2.

In early September, the Lowndes County Board of Elections officially gave notice that the Lake Park elections had been canceled due to the candidates having no opposition.

Rodney R. Flucas, candidate for the Valdosta City Council District 2 seat, dropped out of the race.

A total of 22 candidates remain, vying for seats on the Valdosta City Council, Hahira City Council, Dasher City Council, as well as the Valdosta Board of Education.

If a runoff becomes necessary, as may be the case in the Valdosta City Council District 2 race due to the number of candidates running, it will be held on Dec. 1, according to the Georgia Secretary of State’s Elections Division.

Lowndes County polling places

Precinct 1 — Shiloh Fire Station, 6190 Shiloh Road, Hahira

Precinct 2 — Newsome Street Church, 202 S. Newsome St. Hahira

Precinct 6 — Gornto Road Community Center, 1907 Gornto Road, Valdosta

Precinct 7 — Pine Grove Church, 4024 Pine Grove Road, Valdosta

Precinct 9 — Trinity Presbyterian Church, 3501 Bemiss Road, Valdosta

Precinct 13 — Jaycee Park Activities Building, 2306 Jaycee Shack Road, Valdosta

Precinct 14 — Naylor City Hall, 8753 Georgia Highway 135, Naylor

Precinct 15 — Forrest Street Gym, 1901 N. Forrest St., Valdosta

Precinct 16 — Westminster Presbyterian Church, 3019 Country Club Drive, Valdosta

Precinct 17 — Mathis City Auditorium, 2300 N. Ashley St., Valdosta

Precinct 20 — Valdosta State University, 1401 N. Patterson St., Valdosta

Precinct 21 — Messiah Lutheran Church, 500 Baytree Road, Valdosta

Precinct 22 — First Christian Church, 1905 N. Patterson St., Valdosta

Precinct 24 — James H. Rainwater Conference Center, One Meeting Place, Valdosta

Precinct 27 — Craig Recreational Center, 1104 W. Gordon St., Valdosta

Precinct 28 — Mt. Zion Methodist Church, 4514 Mt. Zion Road, Valdosta

Precinct 29 — Papermill Union Hall, 5241 Madison Highway, Clyattville

Precinct 32 — Mildred Hunter Community Center, 509 S. Fry St., Valdosta

Precinct 33 — Airport Church, 2267 Copeland Road, Valdosta

Precinct 34 — Dasher City Hall, 3686 U.S. 41 South, Valdosta

Precinct 35 — Mt. Pleasant Church of Christ, 2789 New Statenville Highway, Valdosta

Precinct 36 — South Lowndes Recreational Complex, 6440 Ocean Pond Ave., Lake Park

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you