Valdosta Daily Times

Local Sports

February 27, 2014

Loudermilk leads Valdosta Touchdown Club award winners

VALDOSTA — Mac Loudermilk filled a multitude of positions on the field for Valdosta High and the Wildcat senior racked up a handful of awards Monday night.

Loudermilk, who has signed to play collegiately at Central Florida, won three awards at the Wildcats’ annual Touchdown Club football banquet at the VHS Performing Arts Center, garnering the Howard Bridges Scholastic Award, the Wright Bazemore Scholarship Award and the Special Teams Award.

While Loudermilk had the biggest haul, Darrius Sapp and the dynamic duo of Nelson Herring and Malcolm Joseph were honored with the most prestigious accolades. Sapp, a defensive lineman that has signed to play at Georgia Southern, was the Wright Bazemore Defensive MVP Award recipient. Herring, a running back, and Joseph, also a running back, shared the honor of winning the Nick Hyder Memorial Offensive MVP Award. Herring is headed to Coffeyville (Kan.) Community College, and Joseph during Northeast Mississippi Community College.

Joining Loudermilk as the only other multiple award winner was senior linebacker Anthony Smith, who has signed with Savannah State. The Wildcats’ leading tackler, Smith received the David and Sharon Waller Scholarship Award and the Best Linebacker Award.

Other defensive award winners were Brandon Erving (Dynamite Goodloe Memorial Most Improved), Kendrick Patrick and Donte Davis (Super Skinner/Scout Player of the Year Award), Adrian Scott (Best Defensive Lineman) and Josh Norwood (Best Defensive Back).

Offensive award winners were Khalil McClain and Landen Doub (Dynamite Goodloe Memorial Most Improved), DeAngelo Williams and Dalton Smith (Super Skinner/Scout Player of the Year Award), DeShawn Edmund and Ryan Carter (Best Offensive Lineman), Seth Shuman (Best Offensive Back) and Marshall-bound Alex Cason (Best Receiver).

Also winning awards were Robbie Holmes (Nick Hyder Foundation Scholarship Award), Tre Barrett (Mark Stevens Memorial Sportsmanship Award), Julian Fraser (Julian Lefiles Memorial Spirit Award) and Ricky Small (Most Loyal Award).

Text Only
Local Sports
Blazers Blog