Valdosta Daily Times

What We Think

January 23, 2013

A Rave for our raving readers

VALDOSTA — Last week, when The Times staff noticed there were not enough Raves to fill our new all-Raves Wednesday column of Rant & Rave, we considered writing an Opinion piece about not receiving enough positive comments to fill the space.

One astute editorial board member noted that such an Opinion would sound like we were ranting ... which would defeat the purpose.

So, last Wednesday, we published the few Raves we had received and left the remainder of the Rant & Rave space blank on this page.

Apparently, more than a few of you noticed and took the hint.

The Times received numerous Raves this week. Readers will notice the column is full down the side of today’s Opinion page.

The all-Raves Wednesday idea came from the Christmas season. Not wanting to publish negative rants on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, The Times presented two days of positive Raves culled from left-over comments from the previous week.

These Rave columns received such a positive response that we decided to present all-Raves each Wednesday. But to make the plan a reality, we need to receive your positive remarks about the good people and the good things in our region.

So far, 2013 has been a difficult and tragic year for our region. We could all use some good news and some positive reflections. Please help us share what’s great about Valdosta, Lowndes County and the South Georgia community.

1
Text Only
What We Think
  • Meet the artist

    His prints are innovative, energetic, colorful, insightful.

    April 24, 2014

  • Program works to make men

    The idea is to change patterns.

    April 23, 2014

  • Missing persons: Fill in the blanks

    Missing persons cases are tough. They are tough because they are vague.

    April 20, 2014

  • He is Risen

    Now on the first day of the week, very early in the morning, they and certain other women with them came to the tomb bringing the spices which they had prepared.

    April 19, 2014

  • Thumbs up

    THUMBS UP: To Carol Mikkelsen. Valdosta State University Opera’s “Dido and Aeneas” marks the last production before Mikkelsen’s retirement
    after 44 years with Valdosta State and the creation of the opera program. She plans to continue
    working with VSU part-time, but this weekend’s performance marks her last full-time participation with the opera productions. Ovations all around for her work.

    April 18, 2014

  • Feed the hungry, adopt a duck

    If you haven’t already adopted a duck, you have a little more than a week to do so.

    April 17, 2014

  • If I were mayor

    Each year, the City of Valdosta holds an essay contest, “If I Were Mayor,” with students in the area writing their ideas about what they would do as the head of the city.

    April 16, 2014

  • The real lessons of a mock drill

    Valdosta High School’s Students Against Destructive Decisions held a powerful mock demonstration Monday morning on the school’s campus.

    April 14, 2014

  • Kudos to VPD

    Followed by a stellar report on Sunday about the drop in the crime rate in the City of Valdosta, city police officers prove their worth once again by arresting a dangerous fugitive in our community.

    April 13, 2014

  • It just plain stinks

    After every rain event, the pungent smell of sewage can be detected around the rivers and streams of south Georgia, and Florida residents brace for more to float their way.

    April 13, 2014

Top News
Poll

Given the amount of rain recently, what's your favorite “rain” song?

Singing in the Rain
Purple Rain
Have You Ever Seen the Rain?
November Rain
Rainy Night in Georgia
Other
     View Results