Valdosta Daily Times

What We Think

January 23, 2013

A Rave for our raving readers

VALDOSTA — Last week, when The Times staff noticed there were not enough Raves to fill our new all-Raves Wednesday column of Rant & Rave, we considered writing an Opinion piece about not receiving enough positive comments to fill the space.

One astute editorial board member noted that such an Opinion would sound like we were ranting ... which would defeat the purpose.

So, last Wednesday, we published the few Raves we had received and left the remainder of the Rant & Rave space blank on this page.

Apparently, more than a few of you noticed and took the hint.

The Times received numerous Raves this week. Readers will notice the column is full down the side of today’s Opinion page.

The all-Raves Wednesday idea came from the Christmas season. Not wanting to publish negative rants on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, The Times presented two days of positive Raves culled from left-over comments from the previous week.

These Rave columns received such a positive response that we decided to present all-Raves each Wednesday. But to make the plan a reality, we need to receive your positive remarks about the good people and the good things in our region.

So far, 2013 has been a difficult and tragic year for our region. We could all use some good news and some positive reflections. Please help us share what’s great about Valdosta, Lowndes County and the South Georgia community.

1
Text Only
What We Think
  • Feed the hungry, adopt a duck

    If you haven’t already adopted a duck, you have a little more than a week to do so.

    April 17, 2014

  • If I were mayor

    Each year, the City of Valdosta holds an essay contest, “If I Were Mayor,” with students in the area writing their ideas about what they would do as the head of the city.

    April 16, 2014

  • The real lessons of a mock drill

    Valdosta High School’s Students Against Destructive Decisions held a powerful mock demonstration Monday morning on the school’s campus.

    April 14, 2014

  • Kudos to VPD

    Followed by a stellar report on Sunday about the drop in the crime rate in the City of Valdosta, city police officers prove their worth once again by arresting a dangerous fugitive in our community.

    April 13, 2014

  • It just plain stinks

    After every rain event, the pungent smell of sewage can be detected around the rivers and streams of south Georgia, and Florida residents brace for more to float their way.

    April 13, 2014

  • Pennsylvania school stabbings: Why?

    The following editorial appeared in the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette on Thursday, April 10:

    April 11, 2014

  • European bans on emails unlikely in America

    Several European countries are banning work emails to employees before and after normal working hours, between 9 a.m. and 6 p.m., in an effort to curb the perceived abuse of employees by corporations.

    April 11, 2014

  • Strength of character

    It was an unusual friendship — a tiny 8-year old girl with long blonde hair and the 6’10” Michigan State basketball player.

    April 10, 2014

  • Daly’s return a boost for Valdosta

    Flashy, colorful and always a hit with the fans for his long drives and humble demeanor, John Daly’s return to Kinderlou Forest and the South Georgia Classic is a boon for Valdosta.

    April 9, 2014

  • Too many pinwheels

    April is National Child Abuse Prevention Month, with numerous volunteers assisting the Child Advocacy Center in placing pinwheels on the lawn of the Valdosta City Hall. Each pinwheel represents one child that was a victim of abuse in 2013. Volunteers placed 887 pinwheels in remembrance.

    April 8, 2014

Top News
Poll

What you think about school and workplace rules about Facebook friends?

There have to be rules.
No need for rules, just use common sense.
If people want to be friends, what is the big deal?
Nobody uses Facebook anymore.
     View Results