Valdosta Daily Times


September 8, 2013

APPlause! Valdosta Symphony opens with an iPad Concerto




Valdosta Symphony Orchestra presents “APPlause,” featuring Ned McGowan’s Concerto for iPad and Orchestra with soloist Keiko Shichijo; as well as Beethoven’s “The Ruins of Athens,” and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5 in E Minor.

When: 8 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 14.

Where: Whitehead Auditorium, Valdosta State University Fine Arts Building, corner of Oak and Brookwood.

Reservations, more information: Call VSU College of the Arts Outreach, (229) 333-2150; or visit


Valdosta Symphony Orchestra hosts McGowan and Shichijo who demonstrate “how to use various musical apps, and play together in iPad choirs.” Participants are encouraged to bring their iPads.

When: 5 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 11.

Where: VSU Student Union Bookstore.

Admission: Free and open to the public.


Text Only
Top News

Do you agree with the millage rate increases?

Yes. We need to maintain services
No. Services should have been cut.
     View Results