Valdosta Daily Times


February 18, 2013

All of the Presidents’ Houses


VALDOSTA — In addition to the 11 presidential residences described here, the National Park Service administers a number of presidential birthplace and boyhood homes including those of Bill Clinton (Arkansas), Herbert Hoover (Iowa), John F. Kennedy (Massachusetts), Abraham Lincoln (Kentucky and Indiana), Theodore Roosevelt (New York), William Howard Taft (Ohio), and George Washington (Virginia). Private foundations administer several presidential homes including Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello (Virginia), George Washington’s Mount Vernon (Virginia), Andrew Jackson’s Hermitage (Tennessee), and James Madison’s Montpelier (Virginia).

David and Kay Scott reside in Valdosta, Ga., and are authors of “Complete Guide to the National Park Lodges” (Globe Pequot).  


Text Only
Top News

School starts again in about two weeks. What do you think?

It's still summer. School starts too soon.
Seems like the right time to return.
Abolish summer recess. Make school year-round.
     View Results