Valdosta Daily Times

Blazers Blog

August 4, 2013

Valdosta State returns to the practice field

VALDOSTA —  The Valdosta State football team began preparations for its 2013 season on Saturday as the Blazers reported to preseason camp.

After meetings on Saturday and Sunday, the Blazers will hold four days of split squad practices beginning Monday, Aug. 5.

 The first group each day will take to the field at 8:00 a.m. followed by the second group at 10:15 a.m. Group "A" will have the early morning practice on both Monday and Wednesday while Group "B" will take the 8:00 a.m. shift on Tuesday and Thursday.

VSU will take to the field as a full squad for the first time on Aug. 9 at 2:00 p.m. before holding its one and only two-a-day on Aug, 10 with a practice at 8:30 a.m. and 8:00 p.m.

With classes beginning on Aug. 12, the team will alter its practice schedule for the remainder of preseason camp as it will practice at 8:00 p.m. on Monday evenings while beginning its normal "season" practice schedule at 3:15 p.m. for the remaining days of the week.

VSU's first scrimmage of the preseason will be held on Aug. 17, followed by their second scrimmage the following Saturday.

 The Blazers' third and final preseason scrimmage will be on Aug. 29, while they will hold their annual "Meet the Blazers" event at Bazemore-Hyder Stadium on Aug. 31.

VSU, which returns 13 starters and 53 letterwinners, begins defense of its 2012 National Championship on Sep. 7 at 2:00 p.m. when it takes on Fort Valley State at Henderson Field in Macon, Ga.

After a bye week, VSU will play its first home game and open Gulf South Conference play on Sep. 21 when it hosts Shorter at Bazemore-Hyder Stadium.



2013 VSU Preseason Practice Schedule

Saturday, August 3 - Players Report, VSU Athletic Fieldhouse, Noon till 4:00 p.m.

Monday, August 5 - Practice #1 - Group A 8:00 a.m., Group B 10:15 a.m.*

Tuesday, August 6 - Practice #2 - Group B 8:00 a.m., Group A 10:15 a.m.*

Wednesday, August 7 - Practice #3 - Group A 8:00 a.m., Group B 10:15 a.m.*

Thursday, August 8 - Practice #4 - Group B 8:00 a.m., Group A 10:15 a.m.*

Friday, August 9 - Practice #5 - Full Squad 2:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 10 - Practice #6 - Full Squad 8:30 a.m., Practice #7 - Full Squad 8:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 11 - Practice #8 - Full Squad 8:00 p.m.

Monday, August 12 - Practice #9 - Full Squad 8:00 p.m.

Tuesday, August 13 - Practice #10 - Full Squad 3:15 p.m.

Wednesday, August 14 - Practice #11 - Full Squad 3:15 p.m.

Thursday, August 15 - Practice #12 - Full Squad 3:15 p.m.

Friday, August 16 - Practice #13 - Full Squad 3:15 p.m.

Saturday, August 17 - Scrimmage #1 - Time TBA

Monday, August 19 - Practice #14 - Full Squad 8:00 p.m.

Tuesday, August 20 - Practice #15 - Full Squad 3:15 p.m.

Wednesday, August 21 - Practice #16 - Full Squad 3:15 p.m.

Thursday, August 22 - Practice #17 - Full Squad 3:15 p.m.

Friday, August 23 - Practice #18 - Full Squad 3:15 p.m.

Saturday, August 24 - Scrimmage #2 - Tiime TBA

Monday, August 26 - Practice #19 - Full Squad 8:00 p.m.

Tuesday, August 27 - Practice #20 - Full Squad 3:15 p.m.

Wednesday, August 28 - Practice #21 - Full Squad 3:15 p.m.

Thursday, August 29 - Scrimmage #3 - 3:15 p.m.

Friday, August 30 - Practice #22 - Full Squad 3:15 p.m.

Saturday, August 31 - Meet the Blazers, Bazemore-Hyder Stadium, 9:00 a.m.

1
Text Only
Blazers Blog
Local Sports
Choose your subscription: